1863-64: Athen E. Wilson to his Sister

let
Wilson’s Letter with image of 1st Sgt. Wm. B. Whitaker of Co. I, 50th North Carolina Infantry — showing the uniform of the regiment

These letters were written by 3rd Sergeant, Athen E. Wilson (1835-1909) who enlisted on 17 March 1862 in Co. I, 50th North Carolina Infantry. The first letter was written from Kinston, North Carolina, which had been the regiment’s base of operations since early February 1863 after wintering at Drewry’s Bluff, Virginia.

Athen was a native of Cain Creek, Rutherford county, North Carolina. [The 1900 US Census gives Athen’s birth as December 1835.] He was married to Mary C. Edwards (b. Jan. 1840) on 1 October 1866. In the 1880 US Census, Athen is enumerated as a farmer in Golden Valley Township, Rutherford county, N.C.

Pvt. Joseph G. Wilson (b. 1845) served with his brother Athen in Co. I, 50th N.C. Infantry.

Letter 1

Kinston, North Carolina
July 28, 1863

I take this my seat to let you know that we are both well [and] hoping this may find you the same. I just wrote the other day [but] as Joe Logan ¹ is coming home, I will write a few lines by him.

All seems to be in an uproar. They are cooking rations. We are under marching orders but I don’t know where we are going. We may go to Wilmington but I can’t say that we will. We have not got over a hard march that we took last week. ² I am fearful that the Yankees will overrun us in a short time. If they are going to, I hope they will do it for it is not worthwhile to fight [illegible] all get killed and then have to give up at last. I was in the hopes that [brother] Joe would get to come home sometime but it don’t look sure, but he may get to come home sometime but it makes the time seem long to anyone to wait so long but I hope the time will come when we will get to come.

Mother, I will send twenty dollars by Joe Logan. I would send more but I have no more to spare. It has been some time since I have [been paid]. We will get some more before long. Ma, you can do as you think best with it. I would like to have that mule paid for as soon as I could but if you beed any money that I send home, you can use it. Ma, I wish you would send me a pair of socks by Joe Logan if you can. That is all we need.

I would like to see you all and want this cruel war to stop. — A. E. Wilson

To S. E. Wilson


¹ Joseph C. Logan enlisted as 5th Sergeant in Co. I, 50th North Carolina Infantry on 17 March 1862. He was from Rutherford county, N. C.
² Sgt. Wilson is referring to the attempt by the 50th North Carolina to intercept the raid conducted by Union General Potter with the 3rd New York Cavalry and Black troops organized into Union regiments. The 50th North Carolina marched all night on 21 July, destroying bridges, without rest or anything to eat. On the 22nd of July they came up on the back of Potter’s column and harassed the Black troops. On that day, the regiment marched 48 miles. The regiment returned to Kinston where they remained until 9 August when they went to Wilmington.


Letter 2

[Note: This letter is from the private collection of Jason Lynn pate and is published on Spared & Shared by express consent.]

Wilmington, North Carolina
April 17, 1864

Dear Sister,

I take my seat to let you know that we are both well & trust this may find you all the same. I received your letter the other day and was glad to hear that Mother was on the mend. I hope she can go about by this time. I was glad to hear for I did not rest till I heard. I have nothing interesting to tell you, I suppose we will stay here but a short time longer. The rest of our [ ] has gone from here. I can’t tell where they have gone. Some say to Weldon and some say to Tarboro. I can’t say where myself but think to Richmond. They are looking for a big fight to come off there. I think we will be there in a short time. I wish we could stay here till it is over but I fear we will not but we are doing well.

We have never heard from [ ]. He was well and getting on fine. He is in the lower part of Georgia next to Florida. He is in Baker County. His post office is Milton. He says he likes that country well. He is overseeing for Galbreath. He says he gets a fine price and likes it well. I don’t see why Eliza has not heard from him before now. I will write to her and tell her about [line cut off]….heard from him by this time.

….have enlisted for the war but that is all for they have paid us for the note anyway. If we don’t leave this state, I will come home in a short time. If we leave it, I don’t suppose I’ll get to come for they will stop furloughs for enlisted men sometime before. If we don’t leave this state, I hope we will….not yet home this summer but I will want two….with your [ ] the best you can. I close saying may the Lord help us at all times. I am your brother, — A. E. Wilson

Mr. H. B. Miller. As I have wrote some to Sue, I will drop you a few lines. This leaves us both well. I trust it may find you the same. I received your letter yesterday. I was glad to hear that you was well and [ ].

We are at this place yet. The rest of the regiment is gone. I don’t know how long we will stay here but not long. I don’t know where they are gone but in the direction of Virginia. If we don’t leave this state, I will get home soon. We have both enlisted for the war but we was in for the war anyway. As my page is full, I must quit. Do the best you can is all that I can say. I want all to write and give me all the news. Yours, — A. E. Wilson

Leave a comment