1862-66: George W. Fraser to William Jackson Fraser

These letters were written by George W. Fraser (1841-1912), the son of William J. Fraser (1801-1877) and Catherine McCollum (1802-1875) of New Ephrata [later renamed “Lincoln”], Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. All of these letters were written during the period that George served from August 1862 to May 1863 in Co. E, 122nd Pennsylvania Volunteers with his brother Anthony Robert Fraser (1844-1920). George stood 5′ 8″ tall and had brown hair and gray eyes.

George later re-enlisted as a private in Co. G, 195th Pennsylvania Volunteers and was promoted to 1st Lieutenant at Martinsburg, West Virginia in March 1865. He was honorably discharged from the service in January 1866.

George married Lancaster County-born Fannie Lucinda Breneisen December 12, 1876, in Landisville, Lancaster County, and fathered John Howard (b. 06/02/79), Emma Blanche (b. 04/19/82), Willard Goodman (b. 12/21/87), Martin Luther (b. 02/24/92), and Alice Ruth (b. 08/12/96). By 1887, he was living in Nebraska, moved to Illinois by 1892, but settled in Springfield, Ohio, where he lived out his life. He was a preacher in later life.

Most of these letters were addressed to his brother, William Jackson Fraser.


aanyhale94

TRANSCRIPTION LETTER ONE

Arlington Heights
Washington
August 17, 1862

Dear Brother,

We arrived here today. We left Lancaster on Friday morning early. We are all well at present. I left my carpet bag or valise with John Weidman at Kauffman’s and suppose he took it home. I left my soap, towel, and envelopes in it. I send the key along. You may open it and send them along.

Tell Mary to make an under-shirt for me of flannel. It must not be red or yellow. Try to get some that is light blue with white stripes or any kind just so that it is not red, yellow or white. I will need my watch for guard duty. You need not send these articles until you hear from me soon. I have no time to write more now but you shall soon hear from us again. Fred Libbert says he likes it very well. So do we all. We are encamped on rebel ground now but will soon leave for Fortress Monroe or some other place further south.

I remain yours truly, — George Fraser


aacivmusse95

TRANSCRIPTION LETTER TWO

Camp near Fort Richardson
September 10, 1862
At 9 P. M.

Brother William,

I have no time to spare to write a long letter now. All I can write is and must be on business. I received a note from you this evening asking me to answer whether we received the box. I did receive it on the 6th at Alexandria by the Quartermaster wagons. I found everything as you had put it in and more and better than expected. I would have answered sooner but we have been moving from place to place ever since I received the box. I divided it as you wished me to do and all were very well satisfied. I think our old clothes are at Lancaster. They were all packed up in boxes when we were near Alexandria by orders of the Colonel and as I understood were to be sent to Lancaster and left there until we return. Please give that subscription for the pavement at Wood Corner to S. P. A. Weidman and explain it to him. This is all I can write for the present. Mail closes now. I am truly yours, — George Fraser

When we are more settled, I will write a longer letter.

P. S. We are in Gen. Piatt’s Brigade, Surgis’ Division, Morrell’s Corps and McClellan’s Command.


TRANSCRIPTION LETTER THREE

Miner’s Hill, Va.
October 16, 1862

Brother William,

Yours of the 4th & 7th inst. were received in due time but I put off writing until I would receive the box. The box arrived here last evening all in good condition except the apples. Some of them were rotten. The grapes were all in very good condition and tasted very good to all of us. I distributed the contents as you had directed and all were very well satisfied and thankful for the gift except Henry Roth. He thought Dan did not send him the right kind of articles and not enough of them. I am almost sure that he will be sick in a few days for he digs into anything good like a hog. I never seen such a glutton before.

The articles that A. & E. Stober sent were thankfully received and equally divided. You and those that sent or helped to send these useful gifts will please accept out heart-felt thanks for them. This is but little to send to you in return but it all we have to send.

By yours of the 4th inst. I am sorry to learn that we both have been under a wrong impression. You were waiting for a letter from me and I was waiting for an answer from you. Who is to blame for this, I do not know, but I am certain that I wrote two letters to you (before I received yours) that were not answered. You must not have received them.

I am pleased to know that you and all the young folks at home enjoy yourselves so well at the apple butter boiling parties. I should do the same were I among you, but so far I have enjoyed myself very well as a soldier where I am. This life has not yet proven half so tiresome as I expected. Indeed, I enjoy it.

We have just received the election report of Lancaster county. We all rejoice in the election of “Old Thad” [Thaddeus Stevens] by so large a majority. Some of us have more belief in Lincoln’s Proclamation and Thad Stevens than in the whole of McClellan’s army towards bringing the rebellion to a speedy close.

We were ready to leave out present camp last Sunday, some said for Harper’s Ferry, others to Fortress Monroe, New Orleans, or Washington. The former place was most likely but that order has been countermanded and we stay here for some time so that if you wish to visit us, you can find us at this place about seven miles west of Washington.

Large flocks of wild geese, ducks, and pigeons fly over our heads daily but we are not allowed to fire off our rifles.

I will enclose some wild flower seeds for Mother and Mary. They may try if they can raise plants of them. They are not as beautiful as I have seen some in Virginia. There are a few other kinds I am waiting on to ripen. If they wish they can distribute some among other flowerists.

If you visit us, please bring your engraving tools along [as] I wish to put my initials on my rifle and other small articles so that I can easily recover them if they are exchanged as they often are. Also bring a few small bottles of oil and your hunting cased watch as I think I can sell mine at an advanced price. We received out twenty-five dollars bounty and some received the two dollars premium for enlisting but I was out in picket at the time the paymaster was here. I do not know whether I will get it or not.

I would write more but we are kept very busy at present so that we must watch our time if we wish to write letters. I send my best wishes to you all. I remain your affectionate brother, — George Fraser, Company E, 122nd Regt. P. V., Washington D. C.

Opposite Georgetown
October 17, 1862

Brother William,

Since writing the above, we received orders to be ready in an hour to march. We had struck tents and packed knapsacks in less than no time and waited for the order to “fall in” but we slept until this morning under our gum blankets, the rain coming down in large drops.

This morning, however, we left our old camp with joy. Where we are going, I cannot say for certain but it is very probable that we will go to Frederick City. We leave in the morning. You will hear in the next [mail] where we are.

Brother Anthony, F. M. Houck, and myself sent each of us $15 to J. K. Reed & Co.’s banking house at Lancaster to be drawn by Col. David Houck. You will get it of him. We thought that as David Houck is at Lancaster often, it would be more handy for him to draw it than you. I remain your true brother, — George

P. S. Direct your letters as before.


TRANSCRIPTION LETTER FOUR

Waterloo, Va.
November 14, 1862

Dear Brother William,

Yours of the 22nd October came to hand on the 12th inst., being twenty-three days in catching up with us. The reason of this was that we had no regular mail carrier and being so continually marching through the interior of Old Virginia, we had a very poor chance of getting them. The mail we received on the 12th inst. was very large—everyone in the company receiving no less than three or four. I received ten and those papers you sent me, This mail had been sent to Harper’s Ferry at first and from thence back to Washington, from there to Warrenton about six miles from our present camp. There was new life in camp when we heard that the old mail had come. We were all very anxious to hear from home.

Our present camp is on a hill near Waterloo—a small town containing about a dozen log cabins. The chimney and foundation of a fine cotton factory still stands, having been burned down by order of Gen. Pope in his rapid retreat last summer from Warrenton towards Bull Run.

We have done considerable marching since we crossed the river at Berlin into Virginia, having been at Lovettsville, Hillsboro, Snicker’s Gap, Bloomfield, Upperville, Piedmont Station, Manassas Gap, near Salem, Orleans, and now at Waterloo, about six miles from Warrenton.

I suppose you seen by the Lancaster papers that the 122nd Regt. had been engaged in a small skirmish at Manassas Gap. This is the first time that they had a view of the “Grey backs.” I was left as one of the guards at Piedmont Station to guard their knapsacks. Our artillery threw a few shells among their cavalry, scattering them and killing a few and Company K, 122nd Regt captured two of their horses. I was sorry that I was not among them to see the fun.

We are all a very hungry set of people at present. Provisions have been scarce for the last week on account of transportation being very difficult but the railroad has been opened lately to Warrenton and provisions are coming on in abundance. Foraging in this country is very poor business. The country has not produced anything but corn. The pretending Union men have not even the common necessaries of life. Coffee sells at $1 per lb. and salt at sixteen dollars per bushel and very scarce at that. Some of them told me they have not had any in the house for the last six months. I do not know how these folks intend to live this winter. I am sure that a thief could hardly live.

In your letter you ask how we disposed of the blackberry conserve. We carried it along on our march until we had ate it and then used the can to boil our victuals in. One of my tent mates are himself sick of it before we left Miner’s Hill. He is no tent mate of mine now. I do not like such a boy as he.

You suppose H. Roth is religiously inclined. I think his thimbleful of religion is all humbug. I cannot see any change in him for the good at present.

You cannot form an idea how well we enjoy the camp by these cold, frosty nights. We had a snow about an inch deep on the 7th inst., but we lie down at night around our camp fires or under our small shelter tents and sleep like good fellows. “We never mind the weather.”

You ask me to send a photograph likeness of myself and Anthony. We will do so as soon as we have an opportunity to get them taken. But at present there is no chance within fifty miles of us, and there will not be for a month yet.

I pity those who have been drafted at home. I hope they will go in good cheer and obey their commanders and the sooner will the war end. I would advise them to take a number of oil cloth or muslin quart bags along also a needle case, thread, buttons, a strong tin plate or pan to dry in, a two-quart kettle to boil meat &c., a pair of mittens with forefinger and thumb. These are very handy articles in camp. Each soldier should have a large-sized gum blanket, a good overcoat, woolen blanket, and a havelock and a good army knife. I wish Mother and Mary would knit a pair of such mittens for Anthony and myself and whenever we get more settled, I will let you know and you may then send them.

We will not stay here long. We have orders to have our knapsacks packed and be ready at a moment’s notice. Where we will go to, n one knows but some think it will be to Sulphur Springs beyond Warrenton to guard a ford on the Rappahannock.

I suppose you have received the money sent by Anthony and myself to Col. Houck. You did not mention in your last. I should very much like to have a photograph likeness sent to me of Mother and Father—also of all the brothers and sisters. I received one from J. A. Stober today (15th) which I think is a perfect picture.

Before I had time or opportunity to send this letter, we received another mail which was sent to Harper’s Ferry. Tell J. A. Stober I will answer his letter before long.

I am very happy to learn through certain sources that you have had the company of Miss Union. I wish you will stick to such company always—in particular to her as she is in my estimation a perfect lady of the lake.

The Lincoln boys stand the hardships as well or better than the most of the regiment. Anthony stands the hardships remarkably well. Father and Mother can be assured that their boys are doing well and are gaining in flesh as well as wisdom. I am very glad that little Emma learns so well. It is more than I expected. I must close. I remain your affectionate brother, — George Fraser

Co. E, 122nd Regt P. V., Piott’s Brigade, Washington D. C.


aaciveddie1

TRANSCRIPTION LETTER FIVE

Camp near Rappahannock River
November 25, 1862

Dear brother William,

I wrote to you about a week ago and therefore will not write more than to let you know where we are and how we are getting on.

We are encamped about 1½ miles from the river opposite Fredericksburg. The town is said to be still in the possession of the rebels but will soon be shelled if not evacuated. We occupy the left of the Center Division of the Army of Virginia, being the Third Army Corps. The whole army commanded by Gen. Burnside moves together whenever any part of it moves. We are all in very good health and some of us are growing stouter although rations are very scarce on account of the large number of troops gathered here and the inconvenience of the transportation. This will soon be remedied.

Please tell Mother and Mary to knit us each a pair of mittens with the forefinger and long in the wrist. Get my heaviest boots mended, if you think it worth while and keep them in readiness to send to us as soon as we get into winter quarters. Please let me know about the drafted men as I have not heard anything about them lately. Please send me some postage stamps and paper as they are a scarce article here. I wish you a successful courtship with Miss Gerhart. “Stick to her like a leach.” I hope to hear from you soon. I am very glad to know that Emma does so well at school. How does the teacher at Wood Corner succeed?

I remain your affectionate brother, — George Fraser

Co. E, 122nd Regt P. V., Washington D. C.


aacivmusse999

TRANSCRIPTION LETTER SIX

Camp near Falmouth, Va.
December 9th 1862

Dear brother William,

Your welcome letters of November 28th came to me and Anthony a very few days since and you know not with what great pleasure they were read by us. Just as I was writing, Anthony and myself each received four papers from you. We are very thankful for them and will read them with great interest as well as all the other Lancaster county boys in the company.

I am very much surprised to learn that such men as Shirk and Weist have been speculating un human flesh. I always thought they were opposed to dealing in negroes and yet they are now inhuman enough to deal in white flesh. May they learn to feel for their brethren.

It gives me great pleasure to hear that Lincoln folks and in particular Miss Malinda is so very anxious to hear from us. We are all doing well considering. Our present camp is within 1½ miles of the town of Falmouth which is situated on the Rappahannock river opposite Fredericksburg. The rebels are said to occupy that city with a strong force. Our pickets are on this side of the river and the rebels right opposite. It is rumored in camp that three of their pickets were frozen to death the other night. This is indeed quite true as they are very scant in clothing—some having no shoes to their feet and not more to cover their body than a shirt and a pair of torn pants. They are indeed a pitiful set of human beings.

I and no one else can understand why so many troops should be lying idle here at this point. Some think that the army is waiting for supplies; others think that Burnside is afraid to make the attack and waiting for Congress to try to offer a compromise to the rebels. But I am very much inclined to think that we are holding them at bay here at Fredericksburg while the greater part of the army is approaching Richmond by way of the Peninsula and James river. This is only my opinion and I hope is very near correct.

We are not yet in winter quarters but it is generally supposed that we will stay here for some time. Some of the boys have built their winter huts. I have none yet but will commence building tomorrow. There is snow on the ground but the weather is generally ver pleasant for this season of the year.

Our regiment is not as healthy as it might be. The general complaint is rheumatic fever and jaundice. Theodore Stauffer, son of John Stauffer of New Holland, has an inflammation of the lungs but is not seriously unwell. One of our company died while on a furlough to his home at Christmas. He was one of the favorites of the company. You no doubt have seen a notice of his death in the Lancaster papers.

I see by a former letter to Anthony that you have been made to believe that I am tired of the service. This is certainly not so. I am in as good spirits as I was on the day I enlisted. If I have enough to eat and drink and good clothing, I am well satisfied. Yet I should like to see more earnestness in the prosecution of this war. I cannot see as yet whether our Generals are fighting for the Union or not. I have not for a moment wished that I had not enlisted. Just before I closes, I received your letter if the 5th inst. with the postage stamps enclosed. I am very thankful for them. H. C. Roth told me that he had written several letters lately to Daniel but they were not answered and he is getting tired of writing. He will send a letter today.

As we will be stationed here for a time, I wish you to send me the following necessaries as soon as possible by Express: Those mittens, an India rubber comb with a case, a small scarf that can be worn as a neck tie, one light neck tie, my silk handkerchief, and two of my white ones as I lost my old one, a pair of army boots like those which William Martin wore last winter, a pair of stockings, some black pepper with p. box, a small bottle of oil. Try and get a small kettle made at Lewis Gettle’s, if not too inconvenient. It should be made of heavy tin with a wire handle to hold about two or three quarts at least, and then a small one that could be put inside of the former. Each should have a cover.

For Anothy the following: 1 pair boots, stockings, mittens, 1 towel, scarf, licorice, 1 oz. cinnamon, pepper, black & cayenne, qt. kettle and 1 soft cotton handkerchief. It is well that you thought of the old boots. Try and get them made large and long in the legs, by H. G. Miller. Tell him to make them water proof. Anthony’s the same mind. Do not forget to send some apple butter &c.

I was just told that we will soon be ordered to move from this place with four days rations and sixty rounds of cartridges. Where we are going, I cannot tell but I suppose across the river. Do not send those articles until you hear from us again. Anthony will send a small book to Emma as a Christmas present. He found it nicely wrapped up in paper lying near our camp. I should like to send Christmas present too but they are not to be had here. I hope you may get the present in good order.

If you can get Charles’ address, let me know, or tell him to write to me. I hope you still keep sister Sarah well informed about her brothers far away from her home.

Tell all our friends that we are all very well and hope to see them all again—not as we were when we left them, but as better men, knowing and doing our duty towards God, to man and our country, better than we did formerly. I hope there is more peace and prosperity at home than there was formerly, for it is hard indeed for sons to leave the pleasures of home to help to settle the war and then to think that there is strife at home. May God bless you all is my humble prayer. Please write soon again and I will ever remain your affectionate brother, — George Fraser

Co. E, 122nd Regt., P. V., Washington D. C.

P. S. Tell friend Al to write to me soon again for letters some to soldiers like angel visits, few and far between. Before I sealed this letter, we received orders to be ready to march at sunset tomorrow evening a distance of ten miles. I think across the river. G. F.

My best wishes to Miss Gerhart and yourself. May you be a happy pair is my humble wish. Yours &c., — George


aanyhale9

TRANSCRIPTION LETTER SEVEN

Camp near Fredericksburg, Va.
December 17, 1862

Dear Brother Wm.,

Thus far I believe I have received and answered all your letters but since I answered your last, you may have heard some stirring news from the army near Fredericksburg. I mentioned in my last that we were to march on the 11th inst. We did so on that morning but did not go more than a mile from camp where we slept that night. On that morning about four o’clock the firing on Fredericksburg commenced and all the boys were anxious for the fight.

On the 12th in the afternoon we crossed the river on the Pontoon bridge at Fredericksburg. When our company was about half-way across the shells and balls from the rebel batteries behind the town came whizzing over our heads, some dropping within six feet of us in the river, others bursting over our heads. Some of us were terribly scared, but scared as I was, I had to laugh to see how the boys would “juke” when a shell would fly by our heads.

Our regiment was hurried across the bridge as soon as possible and we lay along the right bank of the river until the firing on us ceased. During the day I and some others went into the town and entered some of the houses. They were all deserted and I never seen furniture in such confusion as they are there. The beds torn up, cupboards, desks, and bureaus torn apart, and the dishes, clothing, &c. scattered all over the house. It is pitiful indeed to look upon. Such confusion I never before did see and it is utterly impossible for me to describe the sight. I captured about four yards of the finest Brussel carpet, some neat patch work, a molasses kettle containing some flour, two pairs of scissors, a needle case, and many other small articles. Anthony captured a silver table-spoon, some sugar, flour, &c. We could have got any amount of the most costly china-ware, flour, and furniture.

Fredericksburg seems to have been a rich and intelligent town but it is ruined considerably by the shells that were thrown into it. In almost every house we would find a library containing the best of books. I wish you could only see how things look in the ruined town.

That same evening we recrossed the river to cross again the next day. We encamped on a muddy field for the night and recrossed the river once more the next day and landed safe on the other side.

We were taken out on picket within 300 yards of the rebel breastworks. There we lay flat on our backs or bellies behind a low bank of a fence. We were not allowed to rise or else the rebels would have fired on us. We lay here all night and the next day (Sunday 14th inst.) resting as best we could while the shells were flying over us, some bursting just over our heads. When we were taken out on picket on the 13th, the rebels spied us and directed a few shells at us but we lay down flat and they passed over us without doing any harm.

On the 13th there was very hard fighting all day and continued until late at night. On Monday the wounded were removed across the river and early on Tuesday morning we recrossed the river and returned to our old camp. So here we are all safe and sound and not a man killed or wounded [though] a few are missing. As luck would have it, we did not get into the fight. Carroll’s Brigade belonging to our Division was in the fight and suffered considerable. The loss in killed is estimated at 1,700 or 2,000 and wounded and missing about 5,000 or 6,000. I suppose you have the news more correct in the newspapers.

I enclose a few relics from Fredericksburg for Emma. I send them in place of a Christmas gift. I hope she will take good care of them. I would send some other fine relics if they were not so heavy.

In my last letter I requested you to get some kettles made for us. We got two good tin kettles at Fredericksburg and I captured one black silk parasol and a silk umbrella which will answer the purpose of a handkerchief and neckties and I also got some other articles which will make very good neckties so therefore you need not trouble yourselves about sending those two articles.

I cannot tell how long we will stay here but you need not send anything of those articles I requested you to send until you hear more from us. I received Al Stober’s letter before we started for Fredericksburg but could not answer then. Tell him he will hear from me in a few days.

It is not as cold here as it was a few days back. I could write more about our adventures last week but the mail closes in a few minutes so I must cut short and quick. Gen. Sigel is in our vicinity and you may look out for stirring news from Fredericksburg. Please give my best wishes to all my good friends and I hope I have not written anything in this letter to prevent you from letting them read this letter. Give it to Miss M. B. N. to read. I remain your affectionate brother, — George Fraser

Com. E, 122 Regt P. V., Washington D. C.


TRANSCRIPTION LETTER EIGHT

Camp near Falmouth, Va.
December 29, 1862

Friend Peter Martin.

I send you a package containing some few articles for William. Will you please do me the favor of handing them to him and you will oblige me very much.

We are all well and in good spirits. I hope you are the same. I remain your friend. — George Fraser, Co. C, 122nd Regt. P. V., Washington D. C.

To Peter Martin, Lancaster, Pa.

Camp near Falmouth
December 29, 1862

Dear Mother,

These relics are for you. The spoon and clasp Anthony sends to you. We are all well and hope you are the same.

I remain your son, — George


aacivmusse1

TRANSCRIPTION LETTER NINE

Camp Franklin near Falmouth, Va.
March 31st 1863

Dear Brother William,

Yours of the 26th inst. came to hand last evening and was read with much interest and pleasure. I do not know how it happened that I forgot to put the date to my former letter. I think I must have written it while on picket and did not know when I could send it to the post office and in my thoughtlessness, sealed it.

You make mention of the Copperheads in your letter and ask why the 122nd [Regiment] does not follow the wise example set by other regiments by passing resolutions denouncing these week kneed low-lived Northern traitors in the strongest terms. It seems, however, that they are so mean and weak that they are beneath our notice. They will die a natural death before long. It is said by the officers that we will take our arms with us to Lancaster City and if the Copperheads make any attempt to insult us, they will also have a chance to show their fighting qualities if they feel inclined. There will be a terrible riot in the city if they show any signs. We would all fight much harder with these chicken-hearted traitors in the North than with the “rebs” in Dixie.

Mr. Zook did not tell us what his object was in visiting the army, but during our conversation we got to talking about the reforms and improvements that should be made in the army. Friend Hauck and I condemned the sutlers as a perfect nuisance in the army—robbing the poor soldiers of their hard-earned wages when rations are scarce. He had not a word to say to it and changed the subject. They are a perfect nuisance and do not fare as well as they did since General Hooker feeds his army so well.

I should like to have a conversation with my friend Cyrus Kolp. I have no doubt but that he would roll out some of his best yarns that he could think of. He ought to be in the army so that he could keep himself in new stories and of a different style to those which he generally spins out in his eloquent strain. I dare say, he gives me too much praise and my successor Mr. Oberholtzer too little as regards the progress of his son. I have a very good opinion of Mr. Oberholtzer as a teacher.

Friend Fred is still love sick and visits us every few days to talk about the women. Every time he knows of some rich old sick maid or grass widow that he intends to court and marry by the first opportunity. We have put him on the notion that an old soldier will be all the go among the ladies when we come home. We tell him that no matter whether we are ignorant as jackasses and may have as many faults as the day is long, still we will be wanted by all the beauties of Lincoln and vicinity. He told me today that he heard of an old maid about his age living near New Holland that he intends to marry if she is agreed. He tells me that she is virtuous and industrious and above all, has a fortune of seven or eight thousand dollars and a horse of her own. She is lame, however, from infancy but that matters not to him, he says.

As regards myself on this universal love and courtship and marriage question, I have not come to any serious considerations on the subject. However, a part of us fellows have discussed the propriety of improving the American race by marrying Asiatic ladies. We fear that if the race is not improved, it will in the course of time all run into feet. If my feet continue to increase in size as they have during the past eight months, I will have a very good foundation for a cornerstone of some building. What is your opinion on the subject?

Some of us have pledged ourselves not to court any ladies until the war is over and the soldiers have all returned for fear that if we would court some fair one, it might be the loved one of some brave soldier boys who would then be shedding his blood for his country and I think it would be very wrong to woo and win the soldier’s loved one in such a case.

The army is in excellent spirits and all is ready except the roads for an onward move towards Richmond by Fighting Joe.


aacivedwin94

TRANSCRIPTION LETTER TEN

Camp Franklin near Falmouth, Va.
April 27th 1863

Dear Brother William,

I grasp this opportunity of giving you an account of the intended movements of the Army of the Potomac. The 5th Corps commanded by Gen. Meade marched today. It is said they are going up the river towards Warrenton. The 1st, 2nd, 5th, 6th, and 11th Army Corps had orders to march at 11 o’clock today. We have orders to be ready to move at 8 o’clock in the morning with eight days rations. Where we are going, we do not know but it is supposed by some of the officers that we will cross the river at or near Fredericksburg. We expect to meet the enemy and give them regular fits. Some might well suppose that as our time is so near out that we will not stand the fight. This may be so with other regiments, but not so with the 122nd. I dare say, as long as Col. Franklin leads, we will follow through the thickest of the fight and the mothers in Lancaster County need not fear that their sons in the 122nd will bring them to shame in the coming battle on the Rappahannock.

You may expect to hear stirring news from this quarter about next week. But come what there may, I am ready to meet it. If I am killed while fighting for our glorious cause, I wish that our now distracted and unhappy country may again be restored and if the damn Copperheads do not see their folly, I hope and wish that they may be forever swept from the face of the earth, never again to pollute the soil of America.

I close beside a kettle of pork just boiled for the march and hope that we will be victorious and that I may have the pleasure to take you all by the hand before another month rolls round. I have some other letters to answer of friends in and about Lincoln but you may please tell that time will not allow me to do so. I am your affectionate brother, — George Fraser

At midnight.


Post War Letters

aamilfrae8

St. Louis, Mo.
May 4, 1866

Brother William.

We arrived here last eve and although not having received an answer to my former letter, I will still give you a short description of the country through which we passed. We started on the boat at St. Joe and had a most delightful ride to Kansas City. The weather was very pleasant and the scenery beautiful. The shores of the river are well timbered and sparsely inhabited. The boat stopped at short time at Leavenworth City and we had ample time to see this prospering little city of about 18 or 20 thousand inhabitants. It stands on a slight elevation and is the prettiest place I have seen on the river.

We stopped a day at Kansas City, the great business place of Western Missouri. Much business is done there and it promises to become of some importance. The streets are very uneven and are undergoing much grading. The debt of the city is greater than any other of its size in the West. The prices of all kinds of produce in these western cities is as high and some higher than in eastern cities. I like western Missouri—I mean that part between Independence and Warrensburg—much better than any country I have ever seen.

Independence is a most beautiful city—said to be the most beautiful in the state. Good farms are worth from $20 to $30 per acre with improvements. Markets are very good. Only 14 miles from Kansas City. Land is well timbered and twice as rich and productive as ordinary land in Lancaster county. It is a deep, black vegetable mould. I prefer that county to any other I have yet seen.

St. Louis is a very fine city but rather poorly laid out and very dirty and dusty. I have an intention to stay here until I hear from home and [brother] Anthony. I have not heard from him since I left Naperville [Illinois].

I have several good chances offered me in agencies. No bogus about it and I cannot lose anything by it and have a chance to make some. You will please send me with all haste $100 by Express. Tell Samuel R. Hess that I wrote to him at Naperville and have not received an answer yet. I suppose the reason is he directed it to Hannibal and I therefore cannot get it. Tell him to write another.

Try and send me a descriptive book of fruit trees. I think there is one among some of my pamphlets in my book box. It has a red paper cover. I may go into the tree agency in the fall or summer. Agents sell small trees at 100 percent profit. The demand is greater here than the supply. Find out what John Hacker & Eitnier paid to old Grate for their trees. You need not tell Samuel Hess what trees are worth in the West as I may perhaps buy some from him if I can get any ordered here for some.

I must close hoping to hear from you very soon. Please fulfill my requests and oblige your brother, — George

Direct to St. Louis, Mo.


aamilfrae93

St. Louis, Missouri
May 16, 1866

Brother William,

Your kind letter of the 5th inst. lies before me still unanswered. Having written to you only a few days before I received yours, I deferred writing until I would hear from you again. No letter having been received yet, I presume mine did not come to your hand.

I agree with you in saying that the changes have been great since the bloody day of Chancellorsville when there seemed to be no hope for the cause of “Liberty and Union” and none stood firm to the cause except our “Lamented President.”

The inhabitants of the North Mo. R. R. lands are as far as I could judge people from different parts of the United States and from the “ould country.” All that Missouri needs now is people with capital to develop her minerals and construct more railroads and in ten years she will be the most thrifty state in the Union. The difficulty with the most of the western people is they all want to make a fortune in a year or two and then live at ease. They all have the gold fever, Several New Mexico colonies and mining companies are organizing here and almost every traveler seeks his fortune across the plains. The emigration has been and still is very great. Every boat that is laden here has freight for Fort Benton, Leavenworth, or Kansas City. The cause of the markets being so good in Missouri is the emigration and the large amount of laborers and mechanics employed in the cities. You cannot imagine the amount of building going on in Kansas City, Leavenworth, St. Joe, and all along the N. Missouri and Union Pacific R. R.

A railroad has just been finished from Leavenworth to Lawrence. Another is under construction from Kansas City to Leavenworth. Another from Atchison westward. Another will be commenced in June to extend from Kansas City to Cameron on the N. Missouri R. R. and still two others—one from N. Missouri R. R. to Columbia, Boone county, and the other from Macon City on N. Missouri R. R. to Cedar Rapids in Iowa to get the trade of eastern and central Iowa to St. Louis.

The wages of mechanics are very good here. A house carpenter gets from $3.50 to $5 per day of 10 hours, bricklayers $4 to $5, painters and paperhangers $5 to $8 per day and plenty of work. Board and lodging can be got for from $5 to $10 per week. A carpenter told me he can clear from $50 to $60 per month. The boss carpenters do not work anything.

I have ben told there can be no difficulty in buying lands in Mo. The last State Legislature being Union men have provided for all emergencies. I cannot tell whether St. Joe is a Catholic City. Judging by the number of churches of different denominations, I suppose sects are about equally divided. By reference to the report of the Revenue Commissioners, I find that manufacturing pays best at Quincy, Illinois, on the Mississippi. Better than at Pittsburg or any of the eastern cities and better than at any of the western or southern, Quincy is a Yankee settlement. Palmyra is only 12 miles by rail from Quincy and in one of the best timbered counties in the state. Anthony and I propose to visit that part of the state and also the western and central part of Illinois. We will travel mostly on foot and will start tomorrow. We intend to visit Springfield and see President Lincoln’s tomb. I am pleased to hear that Mr. Evans has been reelected and is to have a better salary. He is certainly deserving of it although “Jaky” did not think so.

The weather has been quite cool here for several days but this seems to be the case all over the western and eastern states.

The Radicals had quite a spirited and enthusiastic meeting here on the 10th inst. It was very largely attended. A crowd of Cops [Copperheads] and “reconstructed rebels” were trying to disturb the meeting and succeeded in getting several of their stripe into the “calaboose.” Gov. Oglesby of Illinois and Gov. of Missouri were the principle speakers. Gen. F. P. Blair is creating some trouble with his rebellious speeches.

I am glad to hear that you are all enjoying good health and that the smallpox has abated. We have both been enjoying good health.

In my letter to you about ten days ago I requested you to send me $100 by express which I am sorry to say has not yet arrived. With it I could have obtained a well paying traveling agency. Agents to my own knowledge have made as high as $20 per day. An agent at Chicago whom I know is now making as high as $40 per day. I wish you would express it to Springfield, Illinois, where we expect to be within the next ten or fifteen days. The best paying business I have seen yet is the nursery. Trees are greatly in demand and are very scarce. No one in Illinois or Missouri plants less than 150 apple trees if he can get them. I have seen whole orchards planted with trees only two or three feet high for want of larger ones. They plant anything only so that it is called a fruit tree.

A man can easily make 100 percent clear by buying trees by wholesale in the East and shipping them to Missouri. The proper way is to first take orders in some district in the West. Whilst at Naperville, I was told upon reliable authority that agents who were there whilst I was there and were having orders filled at $25 per hundred for apple trees and other trees in proportion, were making 100 percent on their trees by shipping them to central and southern Iowa. One of the agents told me he would ship his to some point on the railroad in Iowa and dispose of them there in one day. He had been in the business two years and had invested about $3000 this time. Some of his customers had to come 20 to 40 miles to get their trees. You need not say anything to Samuel Hess or anyone else except the family about it as I may take a notion to invest in trees from Mr. Hess.

Try and send me some descriptive book of fruit trees. I had one in my book box in pamphlet form with a red paper cover. I wish you would express that money as soon as you receive my letter and send the express receipt at the same time.

Please ask Samuel Hess whether he received my letter to him from Naperville.

But I must close as I have already taxes your patience. Please write soon and direct to Springfield, Illinois. Anthony and I unite in sending our love and best wishes to all. I a your affectionate brother, — George


aamilfrstl4

Springfield, Illinois
May 26, 1866

Brother William,

Your kind and interesting letter of the 21st inst. with Express receipt came to hand on the 24th. The money did not arrive until this morning. I am very thankful to you for your promptness. Anthony wrote to you a few days ago.

Whilst Anthony and I were coming from St. Louis to here we stopped off at several villages and offered our services as “Ulren Butzer” but met with little success, They eyed us from head to foot and almost invariably said, “No, our clock is in good repair.”  The agency that we have now undertaken promises to pay well but I will tell you more about it after having tried it successfully. I am again going to Missouri and Anthony to Pittsburg, Pa. I am very anxious to see more of Missouri as I think it will ere long be the greatest manufacturing state in the Union. It has all the natural advantages to be desired and all that is needed is more capital to develop its resources. I prefer it to Illinois or Indiana. It has more timber and minerals than the former and far more water power. The land is far more preferable for cultivation being more rolling and well timbered. It has building stone quarries and limestone not surpassed anywhere  in beauty and excellence. They are set up in the quarries just ready to be lifted out and set in the wall without any fressing. The railroads too will be soon among the greatest in extent. I have not yet heard anyone fearing that public improvements were going too fast in the state. The only regret is that there is not much capital to make improvements.

John C. Fremont has purchased the South West Pacific Rail Road of the state for several million dollars and intends to have it finished through the state in three years. Another great railroad is under contemplation from Central Iowa to Galveston, Texas via St. Louis. It is intended to tap all the Iowa and Minnesota railroads and take the trade from Chicago to St. Louis. I have not much fear for the safety of peaceable Union men in Missouri. I have heard some men express fear for loyalty but it was merely a political scheme to fire up the Radicals. Gen. Frank Blair, however, by his speech making has revived the rebel spirit some. It seems that no rebel is allowed to vote in Missouri by an act called the Registry Law. There may be an effort made to resist this law but the Radicals are fully awake to their interest to let none but loyal men vote.

The Germans I noticed are all Radicals in St. Louis. There is no animosity visible among the sensible property owners. There are some few ruffians and bushwhackers who have been committing outrages among Union men but there are organizations growing up in different parts of the state composed of late rebel and union officers and men calling themselves, “The Honest Men” similar to Vigilance Committees who resist all lawless demonstrations and have used the lynch law on some of the bushwhackers. Disloyalty is in the minority and will very soon be forgotten.

Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 4.11.13 AM
Rates of freight torn from a St. Louis Newspaper

Settlers are coming in from different parts of Ohio, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Wisconsin, and Illinois. I was surprised to see so few Negroes in the state. At least two-thirds of the laboring population I noticed are whites. P. Martin may be right in preferring Iowa but very many of their farmers are coming to Missouri. They tell me that Iowa is too cold. I should not like to live far north of the North Missouri R. R.  I prefer Marion County near Palmyra and shall again visit that place soon. I suppose there must be some eastern settlers there as there is a Philadelphia in that county, Please examine the Gazetteer and give me the general description as given there. I expect to go to Palmyra soon. Mr. Kinch has gone to Decatur and from thence to Peoria.

I have not yet decided upon trying to start a nursery as I would first if at all try to sell a lot of trees in some county and make more money before making any investments in land. I will enclose a report of the rates of freight from St. Louis to our eastern cities. According to it, you will see that the cost of shipping 1,000 trees could not be more than $25 to $30. You can by this report reckon on the freight yourself. There is a great demand for fruit trees and vines in Western Illinois also.

Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 3.24.41 AM
Lincoln’s temporary tomb in Oak Ridge Cemetery

We visited Lincoln Tomb at Oak Ridge Cemetery about two miles from this city. I was surprised to see so simple and plain a structure over the remains of so Great and Good a man. It is a plain brick vault occupying a knoll near the entrance of the cemetery. It has only the “Lincoln” on a marble slab in the front. We sat on that knoll for more than an hour and the shade of several little oak trees thinking of the “Great Departed.” I could not help but wish that he could have lived to occupy that seat which is now being disgraced by Andrew Johnson. I plucked some wild flowers growing near his grave and enclose them to you. The cemetery is a beautiful one and has some splendid monuments in it. Springfield is a very neat little city of some 10 or 12 thousand inhabitants. The streets are wife and regular and some splendid residences and does a good inland trade.

The pamphlet has not yet arrived. Anthony wishes you to tell Al Stober to write to him at Pittsburg, Pa. as he will start with his agency there next week. But I must close as I have already written too much that is not interesting to you. I hope you will have a pleasant time at the Lovefeast but it is raining here. I hope to hear from you soon and remain your affectionate brother, — George

Address to Palmyra, Marion county, Missouri


aamilfrstl1

Springfield, Illinois
June 21, 1866

Brother William,

Perhaps you will be surprised to see the heading of this letter but I will tell you by and by. I do not know who wrote last but it seemed to me I did but never the less I will write again.

Taken all together I have met with very poor success in the agency business at Quincy, Illinois. The one great trouble is in this western country there are too many agents, many of whom are imposters and the people are not so apt to buy of a stranger. The article I was selling had been sold there a few months before and every house almost I would get to it had been sold. The weather has been very changeable in the West. One day it will be very warm and the next a cold rain. Residents tell me they are having very remarkable weather. More than an ordinary share of rain, causing much ague and fever, I was sick with ague and bilious part of the time I was at Quincy. I was boarding near the river, being the best and cheapest boarding place I could find and that being very high too. I intend going to Ohio to some Pennsylvania settlement where I expect to do better than here. The towns are too far apart in this state to sell to an advantage and board and traveling expenses are too large. I think I will go to Mansfield, Ohio, and then strike out through the country.

I learned a great many things at Quincy that I never thought of before. I learned that an agent must know first what kind of a country he is in, whether his article would be likely to be necessary in that part or not. I have also learned that I would not live in Northern Missouri at the present time as Frank Blair is making some trouble with his harangues to the rebels. I do not think it would be best to buy improved land there now as there are many persons offering their farms for sale and find very few buyers. The most land that is bought now is government land and the railroad lands in Missouri and Kansas. The most of persons who go there—those who have much money—want to go into some business or speculation and those who have little either go to the gold mines regions expecting to make more or settle on the new lands.

My attention too has been turned to other things which may be worth a great deal to me in the future. It is a fine thing to belong to some church and also to some secret organization. The Free Masons, for instance. I know that men get along far better when in a strange country. The best and only way a man can get a good situation in the West is to belong to the Masons and some church and then have a recommendation or letter of introduction from some pastor or Mason or both, who would be apt to be known to some prominent and influential person at the place where you are going. I am too late for the summer school or else I would try for one. They pay better wages here than in the East.

Finally, I must come to the point for I suppose you have been expecting it. You might almost think as Charlie used to say, “As long as you don’t hear from me, you can think I’m all right, and when I am in need, I will write.” My expenses being rather heavy and my purse pretty low, I wish you would send me either by Express or money order $40 to 50 dollars as soon as you can. I will try to do the best I can here until it arrives. By express, I suppose would be best and quickest as I think no more than $30 can be sent by money order. I don’t wish you to think that I am unwell nor anyways uneasy about the agency business as I am certain I can do well if I keep my health and get to where there are more small towns, I would have left Quincy sooner but my health being such as not to warrant it to be safe to travel.

No doubt Anthony is near home now as he told me he was going down that way, What is Charlie doing now? Tell him that he could get plenty of work at his trade in all these western cities and very good wages. In fact, all mechanics are doing very well. Coaches and carriages are selling very high and I have been told that a coach maker could make more money than any other man.

I must come to a close, Please write very soon and give me all the news. My love to all. I remain your true brother, — George Fraser


 

Leave a comment